Unfinished Business (UL 11)

Another one from the UFO Lottery – this time it’s Unfinished Business.


In memory of
Jeff Healey
1966 – 2008

Back in the old days when I was still able to listen to music I was a big fan of the Jeff Healey Band. I went to a couple of their concerts in Germany and also saw them in Canada where I met them after a show, due to some serendipitous circumstances. But that’s a long (and personal) story.

Unfinished Business refers to the fact that Jeff Healey died at an age of only 41. That’s why I left the panel with uneven edges – unfinished.

When I learned he had died I started a piece based on the triangular shape of the guitar picks he used. This pattern is again one from the book Tilings And Patterns by Grünbaum/Shepherd, one of my favorite sources for patchwork patterns. It’s not the original layout I had in mind when I started it, I intended to add some embellishments like ribbons and beads but in the end went for a simple finish.

finished size 65 x 78 cms, cotton fabrics, buttonhole thread

 

11 thoughts on “Unfinished Business (UL 11)

Leave a Reply

