Not a total loss

I finished basting the mini-hexies today and ended up with 3,600 pieces plus one spare. This wasn’t planned beforehand, I just cut everything up and made the paper templates as I went along. A perfect occupation in front of the tv in the evenings. It was a way to salvage the fabrics from an abandoned project. Immediately after I left the old project I started to look for another way of using the fabrics. They were expensive batiks, after all. These little 1 cm (3/8″) hexies were the ideal fit, and although I discarded lots of snippets this wasn’t a total loss. The new project is part of the UFO Lottery, still waiting to be drawn. I’ve got a vague design idea already.

8 thoughts on “Not a total loss

  1. Those tiny pieces look like baskets of jewels, especially the red… As you say, hexies are perfect TV handwork, so I’m very much looking forward to seeing what your busy hands will make of them in the end.

  2. Feels nice when you have them all done, doesn´t it 🙂 I also usually makes my hexies when looking at TV, but right now all my hexie project are resting. I´m a bit tired of making them ,LOL!!!!

Leave a Reply

