Family Art – Pt. 2

Watercolours by my grandfather

My grandfather on my mother’s side, who was a cabinetmaker, was born 1915 and died 1980. I have inherited a folder which contains some of his works, mainly pencil drawings and watercolours. It’s a little tricky to estimate their age, but they are supposedly pre-WWII as my mother doesn’t remember him drawing later. He took whatever paper was at hand. Most of the sheets have been used from both sides.

02_irisIris with butterfly

02_fruchteFruit

Alas, this sheet has been severely damaged.

02_verlaufColour gradations

This is the only abstract sheet in his folder. You might think someone else had painted it if it weren’t signed. – That’s the part of my artwork that I’ve inherited from him.

I will tell you a little bit more about him and his interesting life in part three of the series.

 

6 thoughts on “Family Art – Pt. 2

Leave a Reply

