Working behind the scenes

Seelilien

Some of my readers may know 2016 was a bit of a year for me. To keep it short, I started the year with a depression, then I lost my job, then had fun with a leaky roof and a landlord who was very reluctant in repairing this. Among other things.

In summer I got diagnosed with a personality disorder. The diagnosis was very helpful to me because it explained why I’m a little challenged on the social side and also made me understand certain other things. As for me, I axed the disorder part and kept personality. Because this is who I am.

To keep me busy during the time when I was not filling in forms for my health insurance, for the unemployment agency or for getting housing benefit, having appointments  at the doctor’s or reminding my landlord that the roof was still leaking I sorted my hoard humble belongings that I have gathered during the last 40+ years.

I’ve spent another couple of weeks in midst of piles of paper sorting my clippings and torn out pages from newspapers and magazines, my sketches and drafts of possible projects. I got rid of a lot of stuff. Being in my mid-fifties, I’ve got thirty more years if I’m lucky. The pile of remaining craft material I kept will pretty much cover that. 🙂

Unfortunately, I’m no longer able to produce the tiny and even hand stitches I was notorious for, my seams have become uneven. For this reason I will have to switch to machine sewing which will also affect the style of my projects. As you already know, a couple of my former projects have been abandoned with some more to follow, as much as I regret it because of the time and effort already put into them. I’m trying to finish as much as possible, though.

Last year I closed some of my remaining blogs and set up this one instead. But to be honest, I’m not quite happy with how it turned out because putting everything into just one blog doesn’t really seem to match my personality. On the other hand, I don’t want to re-open the other blogs again. Dilemma.

For some time now I’ve been struggling with blogging. As a result of my health issues lots of ideas do not get published because I’m simply unable to concentrate long enough to write about them. On a good day I’m able to scrape together a couple of sentences. On a bad day everything  just goes POP!  – You may have noticed that I mostly just leave a like on your blogs instead of commenting. It’s not that I don’t have nothing to say, but the moment I open the comment form the words just vanish into thin air.

So I’m quietly working behind the scenes these days. I’ve been busy with lots of things recently. Working on old projects and preparing the next steps, trying out new techniques, researching future projects. I’ve worked a little on this blog, re-arranged the widgets, dumped my virtual project baskets and added the projects I’m working on each month instead. Next on the list is setting up a couple of new gallery pages.

Wish me luck

 

12 thoughts on “Working behind the scenes

  1. You have done an excellent job of organising your thoughts and your blogs right here. And I admire your candour and courage in explaining what has been going on. Those of us who have been following you for a while will undoubtedly stick with it, because YOU’RE WORTH IT! Do what you can, when you can, and we’ll be there to cheer you on. With warm regards, Kate

  2. Thank you for being brave enough to share you thoughts and what’s going on in your life right now. Blogging isn’t always easy, especially when many other things are happening, and I admire you for your positive attitude. All the best for 2017!

  3. Good luck! What more to say……. I hope you´ll continue with all your beautiful works you have. And I don´t mind if you “just” like my posts. Keep on doing that 🙂 Hugs

Leave a Reply

