Skeletons in the closet

wolle01Yesterday I spontaneously decided to sort my yarn stash. I emptied two shelves in the wardrobe and collected everything that was stored on top of it. The layer of dust that had gathered there was quite impressive. I don’t get up there very often, I don’t like to climb a ladder.

After gathering all the yarn bags from the bottom of the wardrobe and digging out the yarn collection from underneath the heater I looked into the abyss.

I didn’t count my treasure. But I bet that if I used up only one ball per day I’d be still knitting or crocheting in one year’s time.

I spent all afternoon sorting the yarns, winding floppy skeins into balls, putting everything into clear plastic bags so I can see what I have and stashed them away. You guessed it, there was more yarn appearing in the small storage room just after I had finished. This morning I found a plastic bucket with still more balls in it.

After everything was in its place I decided to tackle the desk with the craft supplies in it. Sorted, but it took me until the late afternoon. Next on the list: sorting The Boudoir’s fabric stash.

But before I do that I need to tidy up the cupboards. I’ve got lots of things I don’t need anymore. And the space that will become vacant will be more than welcome.

 

 

9 thoughts on “Skeletons in the closet

  1. I’m just grateful that I only have a fabric problem. If it extended to yarn too, I’d been in deep trouble. Do you have purposes in mind for all the yarn? If not, could you knit squares from everything and turn them into charity blankets, just as a start?

    • Scarier and more chaotic than mine? πŸ˜‰ There’s something of everything in every single cupboard. It’s really a bit of work to sort it. I’m making surprising discoveries. πŸ™‚

  2. I used to knit very much before I found quilting. Then I gave away most of my yarn. Now I regret that and is trying to slowly built up a new collection. It is fun to knit πŸ™‚

    • I’m planning to use some of them soon for new corals. There’s even the odd ball or two which could pass for a coral as is. πŸ™‚ And I still need to finish the moss and lichen embroidery.

Leave a Reply

