Stuck

gitter03I feel like I’m in a live version of one of those sliding puzzles right now, shoving things to wherever there’s is a free spot because I need the new space for something else. Hopefully, this will end soon – my kitchen will be repaired on Tuesday so I can put back everything. If I remember which cupboard I hid it in, that is. Surprises to be expected.

One thing that fell into my hands again while I was playing 15-puzzle was an abandoned sewing project. A shawl – at least that was the plan. Made from tiny batik pieces into a soft double sided trellis.

gitter01The panels were all pieced together and one side completed. Then I started to sew the two sides together, one panel at a time to the finished side. With invisible thread. Aptly named. It took me fifteen minutes just to sew around one of the holes. Triple secured the knots at the ends only to find them unravel again five minutes later. Guess why I abandoned it?

I don’t have the time, hand sewing skills and nerves anymore to fully finish this and will take the parts apart again. This will leave me with six panels (two of each colourway) and the long finished one.

gitter05That’s where I’m stuck a bit. I thought of taking the long one apart so I get two identical halves and sew two more from the small panels, join the four parts and get a rainbow trellis panel. Next idea was to use thin strips of sticky stuff and iron the piece onto a background  and then machine quilt.

What do you think? Any ideas or help gratefully welcome.

gitter04

11 thoughts on “Stuck

  1. Love the idea of making an EPP trellis! Those batiks look great together, and your idea of sticking the trellis onto a background and then to machine quilt it sounds very feasible. Invisible thread is not allowed in my house, for reasons, although sometimes it would seem to be very useful.

  2. Why not spray baste it to a background before stitching it in place? Spray baste is magic imo. Works for hems and patches in awkward places, as well as the more standard quilting uses.

  3. I don’t like invisible thread, it’s too ‘bouncy’ and as you have discovered, unravels all too easily. The only way I’ve found to stop this is to use a fray-check liquid on the knot, which stiffens the fabric a bit – not what you want, I’m sure. I agree that spray baste would be a good solution for applying your panels to a background. It doesn’t alter the fabric, it doesn’t clog up the needle, you don’t need much, and it disappears after washing. I love the idea of hanging trellis panels on a gauze or voile fabric, as a room divider or privacy curtain.

    • I used spray baste once and haven’t been on speaking terms with it since then. 😉 Maybe the newer stuff is better to work with, I might give it another try.

      • For me, the trick was to use incredibly small amounts, just a light misting. The stuff I can get here isn’t too sticky, and it was a revelation when I was working on T4T.

Leave a Reply

