Minimal art – 1

minimal03mould on wallpaper, unknown artist, 2016

A horizontal line across the work accentuated by a short perpendicular line top left of center. This composition is balanced out by a dark multi-coloured cloud below the line to the right, carried out on a mottled backgroud of white and yellow.

Before I set up this blog I was planning to publish a series of minimal art on my old and now private blog, traces of art. I got inspired by a chapter in one of my ‘photography for beginners’ books and had already collected a couple of examples.

The above work of art comes from my kitchen. I’ll spare you the overall sight. I discovered it this morning after the cabinetmaker had removed one of the built- in cupboards. The roof had been leaking, the water was running down the kitchen wall onto the tiles, partly behind the cupboard. I noticed this in early April and immediately informed my landlord. Repair work started only when I reduced the rent after three months.

In a couple of days, the painter will replace the wallpaper and paint the corner. To me, this is like putting some band aid onto a fractured bone. By the way, did I mention there are two leaks in the living room, one from the roof (already repaired) and one on the floor by the loggia door? The newly discovered leak in the hallway? I’m now looking for a new flat as I’m not willing to take the health risk or having any more of my belongings damaged.

4 thoughts on “Minimal art – 1

  1. Nature has a talent for making strange things beautiful. But I think your landlord is not one of them, no matter how strange he is for not wanting to take care of his property. It definitely sounds like time to find a new flat…

    • I’d love to stay, this is a really nice place and I won’t get another one like it but the things have become, well, demanding in every way. My landlord doesn’t even have to pay for the repair as there is an insurance which will cover for that.

  2. Hurra, es ist mir gelungen, mich einzuloggen. Danke für den wertvollen Link. 😉 Auf dem Klapprechner (der PC hat sein WLAN keinen Internetzugang) habe ich so gut wie keine Links gespeichert, die sind auf dem PC.

    Sieht doch nett aus. Vielleicht solltest du es einrahmen lassen. Ist schon blöde, wenn man wegen so einer Geschichte umziehen muss. Aber ich schätze, selbst wenn das jetzt gemacht wird, tauchen ein paar Monate später neue Mängel auf. Das wird ein Faß ohne Boden.

    • Gern geschehen. 😉 Kannst Du die Lesenzeichen nicht offline aufrufen und sichern? Dann könntest Du die Datei vielleicht rüberziehen auf den Klapprechner und dort im Browser installieren (wiederherstellen). Nur so eine Idee.

      Leider ist das Kunstwerk schon vernichtet. 😦 Ich ziehe aber nicht nur wegen des Schimmels um, das hat nur das Faß zum Überlaufen gebracht und die nächste Überraschung habe ich auch schon erlebt. Auf LJ gibt’s dazu noch einen Kommentar.

Leave a Reply

