Next, please!

A couple of weeks ago I was leafing through some old patchwork magazines. The universe may be infinite but my storage space isn’t and I thought of discarding them. But I found a lot of ideas and patterns I hadn’t cared about then so I kept the magazines.

I still had the remaining batiks on my cutting mat and also the leftovers from another project and decided to give one of the projects a try. The one I started came from the Spring 2015 edition of Burda Patchwork, a pattern called Hüpfende Steine (Skipping Stones).

I cut 10 cm squares (36 dark, 102 light)

pinned two squares together

sewed around all four edges

cut diagonally twice

pressed them open and clipped the ‘ears’

and pinned them to my design wall.

This is one of the main design elements. I’m working with a mirror image of the pattern because I prefer it that way and want to hang it in portrait format instead of the original landscape format.

In the middle of sewing the squares together I ran out of thread. So far, I always used white cotton Gütermann Obergarn. I replaced this with white cotton sewing thread from my local drugstore which was all I could get at that time. And guess what? My moody little Pfaff is purring like a cat now. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Next, please!

    • She seems to like the new thread, so I’m hoping for her to behave from now on. 😉 I’ll have to learn some of the machine sewing techniques now, I liked this a lot.

Leave a Reply

