Stone Rose

‘I think Stone Rose will be one of the next projects to make into a panel. I never got further than piecing a first sample wedge, but this one would be a perfect lunchtime break project. If I will find it under multiple layers of dust.’

The good news is: I found it.

The bad news is: The sample wedge isn’t complete and it’s going to be a lot more work than I had expected.

I was a quite optimistic in my last post calling it ‘a perfect lunchtime break project’. This is a flip-and-sew piece I have turned into an English paper piecing project. Half of the blocks are mirrored. So I’ve got to be a little careful cutting and sewing the small blocks.

It was a little tricky to get started again. I couldn’t find the pattern. I knew it was in one of my magazines and I picked the wrong one first. The fabrics had little labels with numbers on it, but some had fallen off already. The piece of paper with the list of the corresponding numbers for the fabrics and pieces wasn’t in my usual ‘ideas’ sketchbook, but in another. Everything’s reunited now and the first pieces are cut for getting basted.

The pattern by Ula Lenz is called ‘Oktoboskop’ and was published in Patchworkideen 2/2011. Although the name is suggesting an eightfold kaleidoscopic pattern, it has actually a sixfold symmetry (which makes it less bulky at the intersections).

This is what I’ve got at the moment.

3 thoughts on “Stone Rose

  1. I love the colour combinations; I can see where the name comes from. I hate trying to restart long-stalled projects for precisely all the reasons you’ve given: bits get lost, you forget what you intended, important drawings go missing, etc. I’m very glad you’ve found what you need and it’s all back on track.

    • The name was inspired by a Doctor Who audio book I was listening to, The Stone Rose, read by the incredible Mr. T. 😉 I thought it was a good name for this project. Another inspiration was a photo from a trip to Norway where in a little museum they had a wall decoration (a tulip or something similar) made from different coloured stones found in that area.

Leave a Reply

