Back for a great 2015

Welcome to 2015 – hope you had a good start. 🙂

Ooh, last entry (Edit: at The UFO Garage & Fabric Depot) back in August. 😳 High time to get going again.

The reason I neglected this blog was that I had a bout of cleaneritis followed by a serious infection with the cross stitch bug (which is still lasting). But a couple of days ago I picked up the sewing needle again.

In 2014 I completed 10 pieces in the UFO Lottery and a couple of other projects. Also, I was able to finish 15 items from my projects list at From The Boudoir.

What’s in store for 2015 at the UFO Garage & Fabric Depot? There are now 17 tops or panels from the UFO Lottery left to finish and another 6 on the assembly line. And I rediscovered some other things, like a bag of hexies that keeps popping up regularly. Some pieced squares, maybe to be turned into a cushion cover.

Above is a picture of the strips for Seams Crooked that have been on my design wall for quite a while now. I’ve already started to sew them together so I should have another finished panel soon. Wheels needs a batting and back plus some quilting. I think Stone Rose will be one of the next projects to make into a panel. I never got further than piecing a first sample wedge, but this one would be a perfect lunchtime break project. If I will find it under multiple layers of dust. Fiona’s Fall is giving me a bit of a headache as I haven’t decided yet if I really want to make the flower shapes like they were planned in the first place.

To get a little more organised I bought some small clear plastic containers at the DIY’s for all the things that are now kept in various bags and boxes. Some more will be needed, but all in good time. I want to see what I’ve got rather than forgetting what is inside the picturesque pile of multicoloured cardboard boxes. The plastic boxes were filled in no time yesterday. The amount of stuff I have hoarded is amazing. The good thing about it is I don’t have to buy anything new for a while – five or ten years, roughly estimated. Nothing but storage boxes, that is. 😉

2 thoughts on “Back for a great 2015

  1. Hello, how lovely to hear news from the UFO Garage again. It’s the time of year for exposing dark secrets in the workroom, and your plastic storage boxes sound like an excellent solution. I’ve just invested in a dozen white plastic stacking baskets for things which are cut out but not yet sewn. Nothing like a container to make mess look organised, is there?

    • Last year I bought five little baskets for my featured WIPs. The idea behind it was to work on these projects and replace every finished one by a new one. Failure, because the baskets are now filled with various material that was lying around. 😀 I managed to empty one yesterday and will give this method another try this year.

Leave a Reply

