UFO Lottery #9 – Orange&Blue

Summer has finally arrived – at least for a few days. Today’s forecast is 28° C. Some of you may smile mildly but these temperatures are not made for a northern girl like me. Especially not if you live in an attic apartment with no air condition but the open windows. A light eastern breeze is making this a little more comfortable. 🙂

Here’s another project from the UFO Lottery. It’s one of my chessboard projects, I think it was #4 in the series. The fabrics are not the best of quality, some cheap hand dyed cotton. But I liked the colours so I bought the fabrics anyway. I cut both pieces into squares and sewed them back together in a chessboard pattern, one from left to right, the other one from top to bottom, keeping the original order in which I cut them (my so-called ‘cut & sew’ technique).

For the border strips I chose a peach fabric and for the back some decorator’s fabric (read: curtain) from my stash. Should be finished sometime next week.

5 thoughts on “UFO Lottery #9 – Orange&Blue

  1. Schöne Farben. Vorallem die kühlen Blautöne finde ich sehr hübsch. Das bringt gleich Abkühlung. 😉
    Hier findet seit gestern auch der Sommer statt. In der Sonne hält man es heute gar nicht aus, das sind bestimmt um die 37 Grad. Bin froh, wenn sich die Sonne heute Mittag auf die andere Seite des Hauses verzieht. Bei den Temperaturen in einer Dachwohnung? Da ist es bestimmt muckelig warm. 🙂

    • Und das Schöne ist, es wird auch nachts nicht kühler. Bin gerade so bei 27/28° und habe schon alles zu, damit nicht noch mehr Wärme rein kommt. Da ist leichte Kleidung gefordert. 😉
      Habe gerade festgestellt, daß ich mich beim Zuschneiden der Randstreifen etwas verschätzt habe, war wohl zu warm gestern. 😳 Macht aber nichts, ich nähe sie dann einfach anders an, dann paßt es wieder.

      • Na, wenigstens kannst du es noch retten. 🙂

        Ich hab alles auf. Ich weiß, ist eigentlich genau verkehrt, aber ich werde wahnsinnig, wenn alle Fenster geschlossen sind. So kommt zumindest ein bisschen wind rein und heute ist es zum Glück sogar recht windig. Vielleicht hab ich Glück und am Sonntag läuft der Keller wieder voll Wasser! Ich freue mich schon. 😉

    • 22 sounds nice. 🙂 I like orange and blue together, the fabrics look quite nice, the picture as mostly always doesn’t do them justice.

Leave a Reply

