UFO Lottery #7 – Saving ‘Japan’

Here’s my next project from the UFO Lottery – Japan. Sorry again for the blurry picture. I bought some gorgeous indigo coloured prints inspired by Japanese patterns, got some matching beige faux uni and added a narrow strip of rusty red from my stash. I chose a simple pattern often seen in Japanese design, et voilá!

Uh-oh!

As you can see, I’ve got a little problem with this one. The border strips got wavy after I attached them. I have no idea why as I took great care not to stretch them during sewing and ironing.

So now I’m on a mission to save Japan.

This involved some ‘unsewing’ in which my dear friend Jack (the Ripper) was glad to help. First the blue strips came off, followed by the red ones which leaves me with the naked panel now.

I’ve already pressed the strips again and will now rejoin them, hoping they’ll still fit as they were cut without any extra length.

6 thoughts on “UFO Lottery #7 – Saving ‘Japan’

    • This is one of my favorite projects, and I always hesitated to rip it apart again. The benefits of the UFO Lottery. 😉 The red border is almost back now, I might finish the blue one by tomorrow evening.

    • Geduld brauche ich immer erst, wenn ich das Teil dann auch mit Rückseite und Einfassung versehen soll. 😉
      Habe gerade ein schönes Stück Stoff für die Rückseite im Fundus entdeckt. Ich hatte schon befürchtet, ich müßte diesmal stückeln.

Leave a Reply

