Morris Dance Finished

And another one! Today I finished Morris Dance. The name was inspired by William Morris who designed the patterns of the prints I used in this project as well as a book by Charlotte McLeod (one of the ‘Boston’ series, I’ve forgotten the title) I had read a while before I started the piece.

Those of you who do not live in an area where Morris Dancing is practised can learn more about it here. Maybe I should add little bells? No, only joking. 🙂

The fabric I used for the binding and back – a pattern called ‘Single Stem’ – was originally bought for piecing the backside in the same way as the front. I finished the edges using a method known as ‘hemming’ by folding the seams to the inside and stitch them together using a stab stitch.

front and back, detail

2 thoughts on “Morris Dance Finished

Leave a Reply

