Heard It Through The Grapevine

Grape tablecloth – center motif

While looking for a Christmas tablecloth my parents made I also found another one. As I wasn’t quite sure where it came from, I checked with my mum. She told me it belonged to her mother, my granny. I think I picked it up because no-one else wanted it after she had died.

one quarter

four napkins

This one has got hand appliquéd grape and leaf motifs with some embroidery for the stems as well as a hand sewn border which is secured with some tiny blanket stitch all around the rim. It came with four napkins – or are they placemats?

corner motif

grape motif, detail

border

Although I’m not a friend of pink, I used it for a while on my living room table just because I liked the craftmanship. Of course, it’s obviously not one of a kind, I think such things were produced in bulk. But I love it anyway.

Leave a Reply

