Fixed! Friday 12

Welcome to another Fixed! Friday.

We still have snow showers today, preferably when I leave a building to catch the bus or leave the bus to walk home. I’m home now and the sun is shining. (This works with rain as well.)

It’s already getting late, so without further ado, here’s

Isfahan

Years ago I discovered this pattern watching a programme called ‘Treasures of the Orient’ on German tv. This was way before you simply could make a screen cap – imagine me sitting in front of the tv set with the VHS tape set to ‘pause’ mode hastily scribbling down the pattern onto grid paper. I found you a link to a picture on Wikipedia.

Isfahan block layout

As there was a quote in the centre which of course I wasn’t able to read (Geometric Kufi isn’t one of mine), I designed my own centre motif. It was a little difficult to get exactly the turquoise/teal fabric I wanted and took me a while. But in the meantime I had already made a little cross stitch variation of the pattern.

Isfahan cross stitch

The backside’s beautiful structure had me seriously considering using it as the front. – Maybe next time. – I used a thin polyester batting, no quilting.

Made between August 2000 and April 2001, size is 73 x 73 cms. The top contains 1,681 pieces and took me 131’35 hours to finish.

Next week on Fixed! Friday: Triaxial

 

9 thoughts on “Fixed! Friday 12

  1. Hallo Jule, wie kommt es, dass du so exakt sagen kannst, wie lange du an einem Quilt gearbeitet hast? Wunderschönes Muster!

    • Eine Zeitlang habe ich mitgeschrieben, wie lange ich an den Sachen gearbeitet habe, weil ich immer wieder gefragt wurde. – Ich liebe diese islamischen Muster, da mache ich in Zukunft bestimmt noch mehr Sachen.

Leave a Reply

