Arnold Is Back

The other day I was sitting in the UFO Garage sewing when I heard a knock on the door.
‘Come in!’
Someone opened the door slowly and carefully in a slightly familiar way. In stepped Arnold, carrying his small box.
‘Hi!’ He waved with one of his free hands. (As you may remember, he’s got four of them.)
‘Hello, Arnold! Nice to see you again.’
‘I was just doing business in the neighbourhood and thought I might come in to see how far you got.’

I showed him his ‘shirts’ he left last time. ‘I’ve just completed the border – look!’

‘Nice. I love how it turned out.’
‘I’ve thought about sewing the black pieces to the white side and vice versa. But it didn’t look as good as I had expected. – What do you think about two black and two white sides of binding? And a thin batting because of the white fabrics. Oh – do you want a black or a white backside? Or something different?’ I explained to him what I had in mind.
‘That’s different indeed. If it doesn’t mean too much of an effort – yes, it’s OK with me. Sounds interesting to have different colours on the binding, too.’

He hesitated and placed his box on my table. ‘Eh, I hardly dare to ask, but can you do me another favour?’
‘Sure. What is it?’ (Sure? I should perhaps be more careful.)

fabric, batting and extra blocks

‘I’ve got this project here made of batik fabrics. Hard enough to make the blocks match. Strangely enough, I’ve even had five of the blocks left.’
‘And now you don’t feel like finishing it.’
‘Yes, exactly. How did you know?’
Well – you haven’t even joined the rows completely. – I can fix this for you. What about this batik fabric I’ve got here for the borders and back? A bit of a peach colour. A narrow border as usual and also a thin batting.’
He nodded. ‘I’ll be back in a couple of weeks to pick them up. I’ll call you about the exact time.’

Arnold’s Batiks – finished top

Original pattern

You may have wondered about my ‘mysterious’ or ‘secret’ projects. This was one of them. First I had to sew the last rows together, then take out the paper templates. It seems Arnold has used a block pattern from a project called ‘Positiv und Negativ’ which was published in 1995 by the former Austrian ‘Patchwork- und Quiltjournal’.

Leave a Reply

