Fixed! Friday 06

Let me welcome you to the next part of Fixed! Friday.

After another insane week at the office I’m finally home for the weekend. The weather has become more winter-y again. Calls for a pot of tea and some treats. Tomorrow’s forecast: snow. Great. I was planning a trip to the Textile Museum in Neumünster. Currently showing: ‘Color Improvisations’ and works by Nancy Crow. Last chance to see them in Europe before they travel back to the US. I’ll tell you more about it in a future post. – Oh, I almost forgot today’s music: Paul Carrack’s Groovin.

But now it’s time to begin.

Polygon 1

Using pentagons this time, I made this one from a set of hand-dyed cotton damast fabrics that came in a wooden box (a bargain – no-one wanted the fabrics, can you imagine that?). This is the first in a series of three damast projects.

Before I started I had to do a little work as I wanted to make the best use of the fabrics. Measuring, calculating, finding a pattern kept me busy for a while. Success – no scraps left.

Playing with the layout

a first layout

some colour finetuning

the holes for the contrasting fabric taken out, the pieces joined back to one side

the contrasting fabrics in situ

Made between June and December 2001, size is 93 x 93 cms. 400 pieces were sewn together and the un-quilt was finished in 56’05 hours. The center piece is appliquéd to the backing fabric. On the rim I did some hemming* with variegated perle cotton.

hemming

*hemming: fold the front and back fabrics to the inside, then ‘quilt’ together without using a binding

Next week on Fixed! Friday: Last Wave Of Summer

Leave a Reply

