Houston, we’ve got a problem

I knew when I was going to re-organize the UFO Garage (aka The Boudoir), I would maybe find some surprises. Well, in fact I was certain I would. But my expectations were exceeded by far. With all the stuff taken out (and some even returned), the rest of my place looks devastated. How did all this stuff fit into one room? Bigger on the inside?

It seems I’ve got something of everything. Which of course is not true. But the worst thing is that every little thing I take into my hands is giving me (or my muse) ideas.

To my surprise I found another project I had completely forgotten about. Cut batik squares for another ‘Cross’ piece. Ready to be basted. (Note to self: look for paper templates – they must be somewhere, too.)

There were loads of already cut little squares and rectangles in different sizes, made from the tiny scraps that were leftovers from my other projects – nothing gets wasted around here. I’ll have to make some templates first and then take them with me to do a little basting in my lunch breaks. Which I started already yesterday.

Wherever there was a little space left, I stuffed something there. Which means I’ve got no idea where everything is. I think I’ll have to separate my stuff into three big piles: textiles and patchwork, crafty stuff, and art supplies. Which will then be placed together so I can find what I’m looking for. This is a totally new concept to me. 😉 (Note to self: go on trip to the local IKEA as well as the DIY’s for some storage containers – no more plastic bags piling up.)

Hard times ahead, friends.

Has anyone of you had a problem like this to fix? And did you succeed?

2 thoughts on “Houston, we’ve got a problem

  1. Hi Jule, I must admit, my “problem” wasn’t quite as bad as yours but I managed to solve it with Really Useful Boxes. They are quite expensive but fantastic quality and they come in all sorts of shapes and sizes. You’ll be spoilt for choice 🙂

    • I’ve seen them advertised before. I think the local Staples shop sells them *grabs catalogue*. I also need one or two drawer cabinets on wheels from the DIY’s. As I have got a day off on Friday, I’m going on a shopping spree so I can do some more work over the weekend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

