Gudrun’s Blocks

Gudrun’s original block, I added the black strips

A couple of years ago a got a phone call from a friend of mine, Gudrun. She invited me to come around and have a browse through her many bags full of fabrics. ‘Take everything you want.’ So I spent a morning in an almost dark basement, picking out real treasures like Japanese kimono silks. I went home with a sports bag and a shopping bag full of fabrics.

Gudrun was able to make things from the tiniest of pieces, even smaller than some of my stuff – I remember a little ball the size of a thumbnail made of pentagons. She was a well-known in the local quilting scene. Also, she was interested in any other kind of craft.

A couple of days after my visit she died.

These are some of her unfinished blocks she let me have from the bags. Found again in the depths of The Boudoir.

What kind of surprises will I find underneath the black layer?

I’m thinking of making a fabric frame for the mola-style blocks which will also show their interesting backs.

4 thoughts on “Gudrun’s Blocks

  1. so sad to lose a friend, but kinda lovely the to have these fabrics to remind you. I have fabrics and threads from my mum and nana, and using them is always special – a bit of them live on in the projects.

    • I hope I can use some of the collected and inherited stuff soon. Somewhere there must be a box full of lace collars with some of them having matching pieces for sewing to your cuffs. This was given to my by a lady who bought them at a German flea market from a Scottish guy. The same lady sent me another box full of vintage lace samples.

  2. I love the rainbow block. I need to build up my confidence with fabrics as following a rather eventful weekend making a cape with my sewing machine I realised I have a lot to learn!

    • Sewing by machine is tricky indeed. I’ve tried to piece some simple squares together by machine. I then called it ‘Seams crooked’ for obvious reasons. 😉 As soon as I’ve got a little more time I’ll continue to rip the piece apart and re-sew it by hand.

Leave a Reply

