Abandon ship

This morning: First, put on the turquoise tee, a soothing colour. Next, brew a bucket full of coffee, also soothing. Put my favourite music into the CD player. And off to work. Sewing by machine is on the agenda. Well, it’s ironing in the first place, then sew, quality control, rip, sew, iron … you know. By lunchtime, I had this:


A really horrible piece:

After lunch I went on sewing, ripping, sewing … finally ironing the pieces. Oh dear.

Normally, there would be only one alternative – you speak the ancient, magic words ‘I hereby solemnly declare thee a work of art. Thou needst no straight seams.’ But I don’t feel like putting any more effort into this project, it cost me some time already. I’ll show no mercy and go ripping the pieces apart and start anew by hand. So it will be decent.

5 thoughts on “Abandon ship

  1. It has been a little neglected, that’s true. But guess what I did all day? Some ripping, preparing the cardboard templates and basting the first four rows. More news and pic to follow in some days time. I’m having two weeks off from work. Two weeks of doing nothing but creating things. 🙂

  2. There is a very easy way to do this type of patchwork on my tutorial for the strip quilt. I think it will work for what you are trying to do and the results are always accurate. I’m so pleased you’ve picked it back up. Have a fantastically creative holiday 🙂

  3. Unfortunately, strip piecing doesn’t work on this one because there are vertical and perpendicular rows in the colour scheme. Besides, I’m obviously too stupid to sew straight seams (or my machine is) 😉 I still don’t know what went wrong.

Leave a Reply

